Illinois legalizes civil unions for same-sex couples

By Agence France-Presse
Monday, January 31, 2011 22:55 EDT
google plus icon
  • Print Friendly and PDF
  • Email this page

CHICAGO — Illinois became the 12th US state to extend legal recognition to same-sex couples Monday after its governor signed a law allowing for civil unions.

The law stops short of allowing gays and lesbians to get married, but grants them the same legal rights as heterosexual couples.

“Today is an important day in the history of our state because today we are showing the world that the people of Illinois believe in equality for all,” Governor Pat Quinn said after signing the legislation into law.

“We look forward to individuals and businesses from across the country choosing to move to Illinois where we believe that everyone is entitled to the same rights.”

Five US states – Massachusetts, Connecticut, Iowa, Vermont and New Hampshire – and the District of Columbia recognize same-sex marriage.

New Jersey allows for civil unions while Oregon, Nevada, Hawaii, Maine, Wisconsin and the state of Washington extend some rights to same-sex couples through domestic partnership laws.

California’s same-sex marriage law was is currently being challenged in the courts.

Ten countries around the world have so far authorized marriages between people of the same sex, including South Africa, Argentina and Portugal.

Other countries have adopted legislation on civil partnerships, notably Denmark, France, Germany, Finland, New Zealand, Britain, the Czech Republic, Switzerland, Uruguay and Colombia.

Agence France-Presse
Agence France-Presse
AFP journalists cover wars, conflicts, politics, science, health, the environment, technology, fashion, entertainment, the offbeat, sports and a whole lot more in text, photographs, video, graphics and online.
By commenting, you agree to our terms of service
and to abide by our commenting policy.