Hawaii, Delaware begin certifying same sex civil unions

By Stephen C. Webster
Monday, January 2, 2012 10:01 EDT
google plus icon
Two men participate in a civil union ceremony in Hawaii on Jan. 1, 2012. Image: Screengrab via CNN.
  • Print Friendly and PDF
  • Email this page

Two states, Hawaii and Delaware, began certifying same sex civil unions on New Year’s Day, bringing the list of states that recognize same same sex partners to five.

New Jersey, Rhode Island and Illinois are the other states where same sex civil unions are recognized. While not quite the same as a marriage, civil unions confer most of the rights of marriage on both partners.

Just six states recognize full-fledged same sex marriages: Iowa, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, Vermont and New Hampshire, along with the District of Columbia.

In granting same sex couples the state’s recognition, lawmakers in both Hawaii and Delaware specifically noted in the law that they did not intend to “revise the definition or eligibility requirements of marriage.”

This video is from CNN, broadcast Jan. 2, 2012.

Stephen C. Webster
Stephen C. Webster
Stephen C. Webster is the senior editor of Raw Story, and is based out of Austin, Texas. He previously worked as the associate editor of The Lone Star Iconoclast in Crawford, Texas, where he covered state politics and the peace movement’s resurgence at the start of the Iraq war. Webster has also contributed to publications such as True/Slant, Austin Monthly, The Dallas Business Journal, The Dallas Morning News, Fort Worth Weekly, The News Connection and others. Follow him on Twitter at @StephenCWebster.
By commenting, you agree to our terms of service
and to abide by our commenting policy.