Quantcast

Hurricane Arthur makes landfall on North Carolina coast

By Reuters
Friday, July 4, 2014 0:19 EDT
google plus icon
REUTERS DO NOT REUSE
 
  • Print Friendly and PDF
  • Email this page

MIAMI (Reuters) – Hurricane Arthur made landfall on the North Carolina coast late on Thursday evening, the U.S. National Hurricane Center said.

The center of Arthur hit at about 11:15 p.m. EDT (0315 GMT) near Cape Lookout at the southern end of the Outer Banks with winds gusting to 101 mph (163 kph) the Miami-based forecasters said.

(Reporting by David Adams; Editing by Eric M. Johnson)

[Image: Hurricane Arthur is seen moving up the east coast of the United States in an image taken from NOAA's Goes-East satellite at 17:12EDT (21:12GMT) July 3, 2014. REUTERS/NOAA/Handout via Reuters]

Reuters
Reuters
Reuters.com brings you the latest news from around the world, covering breaking news in business, politics, technology, and more.
 
 
 
 
By commenting, you agree to our terms of service
and to abide by our commenting policy.
 
Google+