By a vote of 218 to 210, the House of Representatives on Friday passed the version of debt ceiling legislation promoted by Republican Speaker of the House John Boehner.

Twenty-two Republican members voted against the bill, along with every Democrat who was present. The GOP no votes included Representatives Amash, Bachmann, Broun, Chaffetz, DesJarlais, Graves, King, Gowdy, Duncan, Latham, Huelskamp, Jordan, Paul, Mack, Scott, Walsh, Cravaack, Mulvaney, Johnson (Ill.), Southerland, Wilson, and McClintock. It appears significant that several of those are from the early primary states of Iowa and South Carolina.

The bill then moved from the House to the Senate, where it was immediately defeated by a vote of 59 to 41, with a few Republicans joining Democrats and independents to vote against it.

By midnight on Friday, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid is expected to offer his own version of the legislation, which according to Talking Points Memo will be "amended to include more spending cuts, and a few as-yet undisclosed carrots, to entice enough Republicans to overcome a filibuster and pass the legislation."

The hope is that the bill can be passed in the Senate by the end of the weekend and returned to the House on Monday, where it will face the challenge of winning over enough Republican members to obtain a majority.