Eight members of Congress were among the more than 150 people arrested Tuesday during an immigration rally at the U.S. Capitol, according to the Associated Press and the group Center for Community Change.

Thousands of protesters gathered at the National Mall to urge Congress to pass comprehensive immigration reform with a pathway to citizenship. The demonstration then moved to the Capitol Building, where about 150 protesters blocked the road in an act of civil disobedience. Reps. John Lewis (D-GA), Luis Gutierrez (D-IL), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Joseph Crowley (D-NY), Charles Rangel (D-NY), Al Green (D-TX) and Jan Schakowsky (D-IL) were among those arrested by police for refusing to move.