Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day! To celebrate, let's honor the currently sitting politicians who voted against making this day a federal or state holiday! 

First, some background. Congressman John Conyers, (D-MI) first introduced legislation for a Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday on April 8, 1968, four days after he was killed.  When Conyers brought the bill to the floor in November 1979, it failed by five votes. A bill was finally passed in 1983 and signed into law by President Ronald Reagan, who only signed it because his veto would have been over-ridden.

So, let's take a look at the politicians who are still in office and who voted against honoring Dr. King through a federal holiday.

1. Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-IA)

2. Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

3. Sen. John McCain (R-AZ). He was a congressman at the time.

4. Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL). He was a congressman and a Democrat at the time.

5. Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)

6. Rep. Hal Rogers (R-KY)

And the following men voted against the holiday on a state level.

7. Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-GA)

8. Rep. John Culberson (R-TX)

9. Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA)