President Trump refuses to sign LGBT pride month proclamation again
Sad gay man (Shutterstock)

President Donald Trump has once again refused to issue a proclamation honoring June as LGBT Pride Month. This week the president signed proclamations honoring June 2018 as as Great Outdoors Month, National Caribbean-American Heritage Month, African-American Music Appreciation Month, National Ocean Month, and National Homeownership Month.

Conspicuously absent is a proclamation honoring LGBT Pride month.

President Barack Obama for all eight years of his time in the White House issued proclamations strongly supporting the LGBTQ community.

"Since our founding," President Obama's final proclamation for LGBT Pride Month in 2016 began, "America has advanced on an unending path toward becoming a more perfect Union. This journey, led by forward-thinking individuals who have set their sights on reaching for a brighter tomorrow, has never been easy or smooth. The fight for dignity and equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people is reflected in the tireless dedication of advocates and allies who strive to forge a more inclusive society. They have spurred sweeping progress by changing hearts and minds and by demanding equal treatment -- under our laws, from our courts, and in our politics. This month, we recognize all they have done to bring us to this point, and we recommit to bending the arc of our Nation toward justice."