Quantcast
Connect with us

Mike Huckabee says you’re a bad person if you enjoy watching the Duggars fall from grace

Published

on

Republican presidential candidate Mike Huckabee offered a full-throated defense Friday of the embattled Duggar family against the “blood-thirsty media” reporting on molestation claims involving their eldest son.

“No one needs to defend Josh’s actions as a teenager, but the fact that he confessed his sins to those he harmed, sought help, and has gone forward to live a responsible and circumspect life as an adult is testament to his family’s authenticity and humility,” said Huckabee, a family friend and former Arkansas governor, in a Facebook post.

Josh Duggar resigned his post Thursday with the anti-LGBT Family Research Council after admitting to “inexcusable” actions when he was 14 – described in police reports as fondling the sex organs of his younger sisters and other girls.

TLC has canceled all airing of “19 Kids and Counting” as the network ponders the show’s long-term future.

“Good people make mistakes and do regrettable and even disgusting things,” Huckabee said. “The reason that the law protects disclosure of many actions on the part of a minor is that the society has traditionally understood something that today’s blood-thirsty media does not understand—that being a minor means that one’s judgement (sic) is not mature.”

Jim Bob Duggar said he took his son a year after learning of the abuse to meet with state trooper and personal friend who gave the teen a “very stern talk” but took no official action, and the statute of limitations had run out by the time police investigated in 2006.

ADVERTISEMENT

“He and his family dealt with it and were honest and open about it with the victims and the authorities,” Huckabee said. “No purpose whatsoever is served by those who are now trying to discredit Josh or his family by sensationalizing the story.”

The former Fox News pundit questioned the motives of anyone unwilling to accept at face value the family’s claims that the sex abuse claims had actually brought them “closer to God.”

“Those who have enjoyed revealing this long ago sins in order to discredit the Duggar family have actually revealed their own insensitive bloodthirst, for there was no consideration of the fact that the victims wanted this to be left in the past and ultimately a judge had the information on file destroyed—not to protect Josh, but the innocent victims,” Huckabee said.

Huckabee repeatedly affirmed his love for the Duggar family and said their supporters should continue to stand by them.

“They are no more perfect a family than any family, but their Christian witness is not marred in our eyes because following Christ is not a declaration of our perfection, but of HIS perfection,” Huckabee said.

Report typos and corrections to [email protected].
READ COMMENTS - JOIN THE DISCUSSION
Continue Reading

Breaking Banner

QAnon authors in a fight over doing an audiobook — because they think their followers can’t read

Published

on

On Monday, The Daily Beast reported that the authors of a popular book for believers in the QAnon conspiracy theory are in a bitter fight over whether or not to release an audiobook version.

QAnon: An Invitation to The Great Awakening came out last year and peaked near the top of the Amazon bestseller list in March. One of the book's co-authors, Dustin Nemos, is publicly attacking another co-author, who goes by the name of "JoeM," for his "petty and hostile and paranoid" refusal to help produce an audiobook, and notes that it is necessary because a disproportionate number of QAnon believers are elderly, have bad eyesight, and may not be able to read the book as text. JoeM, for his part, has accused Nemos of being a "grifter" who is trying to make a buck off of true believers.

Continue Reading

Breaking Banner

Missouri governor appoints judge who fundraised for crisis pregnancy center to help decide Planned Parenthood’s license

Published

on

On Monday, the Associated Press reported that Gov. Mike Parson (R-MO) has appointed former Macon County Associate Circuit Judge Philip Prewitt to the Administrative Hearing Commission, a state agency that oversees disputes between the state and organizations seeking licensure.

Prewitt, a former Republican candidate for office, once fundraised on Facebook for Ray of Hope Pregnancy Care Ministeries, a "crisis pregnancy center" that masquerades as a health care facility in order to trick women seeking abortions into listening to anti-abortion propaganda. In 2015, the Missouri Supreme Court reprimanded Prewitt for the post encouraging people to donate, saying that it violated judicial ethics rules.

Continue Reading
 

Breaking Banner

Trump being a ‘compulsive liar and erratic ignoramus’ is why he failed on Iran: Conservative columnist

Published

on

President Donald Trump's highly-criticized decision to withdraw from the Iran nuclear deal has resulted as was warned, with the country reviving its nuclear program, a conservative columnist explained in The Washington Post on Monday.

Conservative Max Boot took a victory lap in the hard-hitting column, reminding that he had signed a March 2016 letter by 121 Republican foreign policy analysts warning about Trump's approach.

"I wish we had been wrong, but we were all too right," Boot wrote.

"Trump has shown no ability to grow in office; but then it’s hard to learn if you all you read is Fox News chyrons. He is today the same compulsive liar and erratic ignoramus he was at the start of the 2016 campaign," Boot said. "Only now, the stakes are much higher."

Continue Reading
 
 

Copyright © 2019 Raw Story Media, Inc. PO Box 21050, Washington, D.C. 20009 | Masthead | Privacy Policy | For corrections or concerns, please email [email protected]awstory.com.

I need your help.

Investigating Trump's henchmen is a full time job, and I'm trying to bring in new team members to do more exclusive reports. We have more stories coming you'll love. Join me and help restore the power of hard-hitting progressive journalism.

TAKE A LOOK
close-link

Investigating Trump is a full-time job, and I want to add new team members to do more exclusive reports. We have stories coming you'll love. Join me and go ad-free, while restoring the power of hard-hitting progressive journalism.

TAKE A LOOK
close-link