Progressives seize control of the Nevada Democratic Party: report

Organizing by progressives in Nevada paid off on Saturday during elections that determined control of the state's Democratic Party.

"Clark County Democratic Party Chair Judith Whitmer defeated Clark County Commissioner Tick Segerblom on Saturday to assume control of the Nevada State Democratic Party, ushering a dramatic shakeup of the state party's power structure by its most liberal wing," the Las Vegas Review-Journal reports. "Three other progressives running alongside Whitmer captured four of the other officer positions during the election, which was held during a virtual meeting of the state party's central committee. Whitmer received 248 votes to Segerblom's 216 for the chair position."

"Jacob Allen (first vice-chair), Dr. Zaffar Iqbal (second vice-chair) and Ahmed Ade (secretary) were also elected on Whitmer's "progressive" slate. Lance Arberry (treasurer) was the lone winner for Segerblom's "progressive unity" slate, defeating Howard Beckerman by just two votes," the newspaper explained.

The newspaper offered insight into how Whitmer pulled off her victory, which may be viewed as a loss for Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV).

"While Segerblom enjoyed support from prominent local, state and federal elected officials, Whitmer has spent years organizing and encouraging young progressives to serve on the very state central committee that elected her," the newspaper noted. "According to both candidates, the race drew the direct intervention of some of the state's top elected officials, including Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto, who will lead the Democratic ticket along with Gov. Steve Sisolak in 2022. Nevada's senior senator reportedly approached Segerblom, who had not been considering a bid for the seat he once held in the early '90s, about joining the race and questioned Whitmer on her candidacy."

Read the full report.