House passes bill to fine members who refuse metal detectors and security screenings

The House voted 216 to 210 to issue fines for any official who refuses to go through metal detectors and violate security screenings.

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA) and Rep. Lauren Boebert (R-CO) are among a few officials who said that she would carry her gun to the U.S. Capitol when she served in Congress. It's against the rules to have a gun in Congress. Members can carry them outside of the building, in their offices and wherever else, but not in the Capitol building.

Members will face a $5,000 fine for the first offense and $10,000 each time thereafter and it will be taken from their pay.

The Washington Post noted that Rep. Jim McGovern (D-MA), who serves as the chairman of the House Rules Committee, blasted members ignoring the rules as an "elitist mentality" for those who "have ignored the screening procedures, imploring his fellow lawmakers to recognize that 'the rules apply to us, too — and it's time all of us acted like it.'"

"Apparently, some of my friends on the other side think differently," McGovern said. "Some are acting as though by being elected to Congress, they have been anointed to some sort of special club — one that gets to pick and choose what rules to follow."

You can read more about the gun laws for Washington, D.C. and the Capitol here.